Churros y Chocolate (Easy Baked Recipe)

If you asked me what my favourite thing to eat in the whole world is then Churros would be my answer. Crunchy and crisp, a lovely sweet, sugary flavour and served with the world’s most delicious chocolate sauce (my recipe!), what else would be my choice? My love of Churros began when I tried some of most amazing delicious ones from a Street Vendor in Mallorca. I enjoyed each and every bite whilst admiring the beautiful sea views and lovely warm evening sun. So because they we’re soooo good, I finally got round to ticking homemade Churros off my ever-growing baking list. But as I’m not a fan of frying, I baked these instead and they were so amazing. And from looking at my pictures, you wouldn’t have guessed they weren’t fried?! These baked Churros weren’t just easier to make, they tasted lighter and we’re super crisp on the outside too. And I kept the recipe traditional by rolling the Churros in LOTS of sugar without the cinnamon. Enjoy!

churros y chocolate

churros baked recipe

I heart Churros con Chocolate…

heart churros

churros baking

Baking Churros is so much easier than frying. Simply pipe strips of the mixture onto your baking tray, bake and enjoy with a dusting of sugar and that delicious chocolate sauce…also, I hope you like my experiment at piping a heart Churro!

Ingredients- 

Churros Mixture- 

250ml of water

1/2 cup of unsalted butter

1 cup of plain flour

3 large free-range or organic eggs, at room temperature

1 tablespoon of caster sugar

1/4 tsp of vanilla bean paste (opt)

Chocolate Sauce- 

200g of good quality chocolate- I used a mix of milk and dark chocolate for bittersweetness

300ml of double cream

2 tablespoons of golden syrup

For rolling-

Caster sugar (and LOTS of it!)

Method- 

1. Gently melt the water and butter. Then add the flour and stir constantly until the mix clumps together and comes away from the side of the pan. Then take off the heat. Add the eggs one by one, beating and incorporating each egg individually before you add the next. Then add the sugar and vanilla bean paste and mix to combine.

2. Preheat your oven to 200 degrees C. Now fit a large piping bag with a large star tip nozzle. Fill the piping bag with the Churros mixture. Then line two large baking trays with some parchment/non-stick paper. Pipe whatever size Churros you like- I went for straight smallish Churros.

3. Bake the churros for 12-15 minutes or until nice and golden on the outside. Roll immediately in some sugar and then serve alongside the sauce.

* Make the sauce whilst the Churros bake- combine the chocolate, cream and syrup in a small saucepan. Melt gently, stirring constantly until you have a smooth and silky rich chocolate sauce, the sauce will keep warm in the saucepan for about 10 minutes.

baked churros con chocolate

churros and sauce

Look at that lush chocolate sauce! Me and my sister we’re literally addicted to this amazing sauce we ate it straight from the saucepan!

easy baked churros

So do you think you’ll try this recipe?! If so, like all my other recipes I would love to hear how they tasted! Last week Mel from lecoindemel.com  baked my Nutella and Roasted Hazelnut Cake and it looked amazing. I was so happy Mel and her whole family enjoyed it over the half-term break!

nutella cake le coin de mel

Who doesn’t LOVE Nutella Cake?! You can find the recipe here

jess

167 thoughts on “Churros y Chocolate (Easy Baked Recipe)

  1. I was in Granada Spain for 3 months when I was studying, Jess, and I LOVED churros con chocolate! I know it sounds silly but I would never have thought that you could pipe them with an icing bag … but I’m very happy that you can! Seems so simple and I’m definitely keen to try making them some time. Pinning for later for sure!

  2. I love you for posting a baked version! My husband has been asking me to make churros at home forever but I just really don’t like frying… These look perfect!

  3. Okay Jessica, I’m pretty much in absolute love over here with these baked churros! Not only are they so pretty, but my mouth is watering right now! My youngest son’s favorite treat is churros. I’m going to have to make these. Love how simple the recipe is!

  4. Did you say churros AND baked??? Ahhh how cool are these???
    I hate fried foods and fried churros are one of my least favorite foods ever ((which sucks, because I live in Spain and they are everywhere and they smell funny with their greasiness and ughhhh))… but baked churros??? Now, that’s a genius idea. I have to try these now!

    • Thanks Consuelo! I know, fried food really smells terrible! But saying that, I would love to live in Spain and eat the amazing Churros! Really happy you like the recipe- and thanks for stopping by. :)

  5. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #5 | The Novice Gardener

  6. Everytime I go to Disneyland (which is not often) I have to have a churro, it is so yummy. I love that you have a baked version! There is just something about crunchy, cinnamony sweets. Another one to put on my list of things to make!

  7. What an awesome idea to bake them. Of course living here in Spain we just go out for churros. And I love eating them so much but I admit I would fit in a few more if they weren’t so oily. So I’d eat double of yours ;)

  8. Hi just found your site my gosh churro and alfajores reminds me when I was little in South America and mum made them love churros and hot chocolate i live in australia and my winter be here few months great recipes keep it up doing one of your cheesecakes for my twin nephews birthday it’s like been back home thanks xo

    • Hi Rosemary- really happy my recipes have reminded you of home! Really pleased you enjoyed the South American and Latin-inspired recipes- they’re both my all time favourites! Also, really pleased you’re going to make one of my cheesecake recipes, hope your family and nephew enjoy it and please let me know how it goes! :) xx

Leave a Reply

